advice · anxiety · biploar disorder · depression · life · mental health · mental illness · motivation · my story · self help · series · Uncategorized · writing

Reaching out for help.

My dad recently spoke to me about an old family friend of ours, who has two daughters a few years younger than myself. I was never particularly close to them, though we were often thrown together by default as a result of our parents getting together regularly. Don’t get me wrong, they were nice enough girls, but I was at the angsty stage of the early teens and they were both younger.

Anyway, fast forward to now, and my dad has told me that his friends two daughters are going through a very rough time, one of them has an eating disorder that has caused her to be hospitalised several times and the other is self harming and has attempted suicide. I haven’t seen either of these girls for several years now, and I remember them to be carefree, happy kids. It breaks my heart that they are both suffering with mental illness.

My dad has told me that our family friend has asked me if I would have a talk with his daughters. I was a little taken aback being asked this, even though our two families go back a long time, having never been close to his daughters I wasn’t sure it was my place to talk to them. I mean, I have been through a lot of stuff in my life, and I’ve been to some really dark places and luckily I made it out the other side.

But I’m still a bit afraid to talk to them. What if I say the wrong thing? What if it makes them feel worse? What if they just don’t want to listen?

But on the other hand, what if I really could help these girls? I am in no ways a professional or qualified to give any advice or anything like that, but it might help them to know that they aren’t alone and that there’s someone, other than their parents, who care for them and who are there for them and who they can confide in, no strings attached?

I’m not sure. What would you guys do?

Leave a Reply

